PDA

View Full Version : Track Editor Released !



samoht
September 30th, 2015, 03:55 PM
Yay! or something.

You really need an iPad or google equivalent I think.

It's interesting - better than the GT5 equivalent but takes some getting worked out as you have little control over the terrain.

SkylineObsession
September 30th, 2015, 10:37 PM
*waits long time to create own tracks in GT6*

*finds out it is tablet only*

*doesn't own a tablet, and doesn't intend on buying one. Also doesn't own a smartphone, not that it matters*

*says 'meh', and goes back to playing Forza*

:rolleyes: :down:

Yw-slayer
October 2nd, 2015, 06:38 AM
Nice, thanks for this, I'll check it out on my tablets.

samoht
October 3rd, 2015, 11:40 AM
Findings so far:

It's a lot better than GT5's Course Maker, because you get to decide where the track goes.

You have pretty good control over the route of the track, you can quite readily make non-constant-radius corners, it's pretty flexible. There's a minimum radius you can achieve, so you can't do something like a bus-stop chicane, but generally apart from the odd slow chicane on modern F1 tracks, anything else is fine. No crossovers either.

The biggest limitation is lack of control over elevation. You have a choice of two modes:
- flat mode, in which the track will be totally flat, but you can import a JPG of a track layout so you can trace it precisely.
- landscape mode, in which you draw on top of a pre-existing landscape (three to choose from).

Flat mode is great for flat tracks like Montreal, Blyton Park, etc; you can use the tracing to get a good recreation. The main limitation is a fixed 600m main straight, so you sometimes have to compromise or move the main start-finish straight to another part of the track to make it work. In flat mode you can't have any elevation changes at all.

Landscape mode gives you the chance to make some pretty exciting tracks, *but* you can't control the landscape and even worse, you don't really know what the landscape is under your track when you trace it. So it's a lot of time-consuming trial and error to get any specific result. I've been working on a hillclimb, and I keep getting random sudden rises and falls in the track (like Seattle but worse), you just have to keep trying it out in the game, going back to the tablet and trying a slightly different route, and seeing what elevations result.

I'm quite happy with the Blyton Park and Catalunya recreations I made so far, they capture the challenge of the tracks even if they don't look the same.

You can race the AI in a single race, although they are pretty slow at homemade tracks.

novicius
October 3rd, 2015, 01:45 PM
This is *so* needed is most any racing game, I'm glad to hear that Gran Turismo has it! :up: :up:

FaultyMario
October 3rd, 2015, 03:21 PM
Havent got the game. Dl'd app to the mrs. Ipad.

Wanna go find a used copy now.

Yw-slayer
October 3rd, 2015, 08:46 PM
I wanted to make a really, really long track covering the whole map and which was almost all corners, but quickly ran up against the 9km(?) size limit. :(

FaultyMario
October 4th, 2015, 09:41 AM
The wider the road the less corners you can pack in your track. And if you zoom closely in (that you can see rumble strips) the you can do some cool slow speed bends.

samoht
October 4th, 2015, 10:33 AM
Don't forget the 'Decrease Corner Radius' option which narrows the ribbon of track either side of the tarmac, allowing tighter bends. With 9.5m track I can get a 25m-radius hairpin (not quite good enough for L'Epingle at Canada, but it'll do).

Rare White Ape
October 4th, 2015, 02:13 PM
Seems like it's only good for recreating tracks that are actually flat, and few come to mind for me.

One is the super-exciting old airport circuit from the CART IndyCar days (Cleveland?) and the other is Sebring, but you wouldn't be able to map the bumps.

Those two examples are both based on air strips, which would be no coincidence. But without the ability to control even the most subtle elevation and camber changes, it would totally change the dynamic of a circuit.

Kchrpm
October 4th, 2015, 07:58 PM
Yes, Cleveland, Burke Lakefront.

SportWagon
October 9th, 2015, 09:42 AM
This makes me think maybe I should fire up V-Rally 2.

Jegato
October 19th, 2015, 10:23 AM
I've downloaded the BlueStacks emulator since I don't have a tablet. Works okay.. not precise with scaling (no touchscreen to pinch or rotate) but can get close based on how you snapshot images from Google Earth or Maps.
There are a few Creators out there that have made some worthy reproductions outside of the flat landscape. Road America by Patrick8308 and 1960s Spa Francorchamps by GTP_daan are a couple.
Unfortunately, you are limited to 30 user-created tracks in your GT6 My Page and Track Editor app.
You do not have to be a 'friend' in order to download someone else's tracks. And by clicking on a Creator's Name hyperlink during the download operation you can view their My Page and see any others they have that they've created or have saved from other Creators.
https://www.gtplanet.net/forum/threads/downloading-others-tracks-without-fr.335172/

The terrain contour maps for Andalusia, Eifel and Death Valley are being captured which should help these Creators make additional relatively close-to-life reproductions (the default background images in the app are shit).
https://www.gtplanet.net/forum/threads/height-maps-from-the-apk.336865/#post-11039398

There has also been a bug discovered whereby you can use any user-created track in Career Mode Championship.. so, 16 car grid with side-by-side rolling start instead of 12 car 'chase the rabbit'.
https://www.gtplanet.net/forum/threads/custom-tracks-in-career-mode-working-1-21.336519/

FaultyMario
December 1st, 2015, 05:56 PM
Do you need PS+ to be able to upload tracks from the tablet to your PSN account?

Both times I tried yesterday it told me it didn't find a connection, then fucking froze.

samoht
December 5th, 2015, 01:25 PM
You don't need any paid subscription to upload tracks, no.

Don't know why it froze for you.

Jegato
May 16th, 2016, 12:57 PM
samoht - Speed Mountain is a great track.. best sets of switchbacks I've encountered yet with the track editor :up:

samoht
May 18th, 2016, 02:54 PM
:D

I'm really glad you like it Jegato, thanks for the feedback. I've long wanted touge courses in GT, it's fun being able to make them.

Being able to import contour maps as backgrounds with the modded TPE makes it quite a bit easier to lay out mountainous courses, because you can see which direction the land is sloping.

FaultyMario
May 19th, 2016, 05:30 AM
The modded what?

samoht
May 19th, 2016, 05:46 AM
If you have an Android device, you can install a modified APK file - links here https://www.gtplanet.net/forum/threads/modified-track-path-editor-tracks-discussion.337816/page-14#post-11336486

This permits you to import a background image on non-flat themes. So you import a contour map of the theme you are working on, and bingo, you can lay the track over the landscape, rather than just laying it down and hoping for the best. Also, it removes the validation that stops you laying too tight/close tracks, which has the side effect that even if you don't want to do this, it's much much easier to adjust a pre-existing section of track, as you can move each marker once, rather than having to repeatedly shuffle all of them in sequence to achieve the desired line. Contour Height maps are available on GTPlanet.

Basically it's makes it much easier to make good tracks with elevation, with less trial and error.

SkylineObsession
May 22nd, 2016, 09:52 PM
Noobish here, but how would i go about downloading and racing on this track?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5d1PmC4y-0
The capture for the vid is where it got too steep for the car to get higher up. :D

Someone claimed they got an X1 up to 890 km/h on the way down. o_O

Do you save it to a USB stick, load it onto the PS3 and then load it in game?
I know a 3 second Google search could find me the answer, but that is three seconds i just can't spare at the mo. ;)