PDA

View Full Version : Along the lines of "yea or nay", but not nearly as exotic....

drew
November 18th, 2014, 03:09 PM
Apparently silly season has started.

Last night I got an out-of-the-blue text from the VP of the old company I worked for (last job), asking for my resume.

I sent it to him this morning, not really even knowing what the potential position is/was. I got two phone calls this afternoon, from two PMs (Jacksonville/Orlando), one of which I worked with in Chicago.

Turns out it's a position very similar to mine what I've now got 3+ years experience with in this industry.

The current project I'm on isn't dried up, yet. But it is winding down. My girlfriend and I are 2 of the 4 left (out of 12 a year ago), and the field office personnel are dropping off every week. But, our position is a little different than the field's, as we're tasked with customer interface, and direct finance actions, and there's a n absolute shitton of cleanup effort to be done, even after the build is done (which is sitting at about 97% project wide).

Both of our contracts have been extended til the end of Q2 2015, but that's no guarantee we'll last that long.

I absolutely love what I do, and how I'm able to do it. So the potential "new" gig isn't anything new at all, it's in my wheelhouse that I kick ass with (not bragging, just stating the truth), everybody I've worked with knows this, which is probably why I got the call (especially when I was referred to by the VP, must have done something right anyway).

So, to the pros/cons of the new:

Pros:
1. if I get what I asked for ($), it'd be $10k more than I'm making now (as a relative example, my monthly income is twice what my monthly expenses are (sans food/booze/golf (maybe it breaks even then...)), so that's a plus.