Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 45 of 45

Thread: Home internet and wi-fi overhaul

  1. #41
    High Plains Luddite George's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3,496
    Does anyone have recent experience with internet from a cable TV provider?

    If so, my question is has the technology changed in the last few years, or do you still get TV & cable signal over the same physical cable coming to the house?

    I'm evaluating cable vs. DSL for internet service at home. Sadly those two seem to be our only options, and I'm not particularly fond of either provider. Anyway, we used to have cable TV and cable internet. I could plug the cable modem into any of a few cable TV jacks in our house and get internet that way. So, I figured we could just call Comcast (TV & cable provider) and ask them to start sending us an internet signal and add it to our monthly bill, if that's what we decide to do.

    Well, I just called Comcast and got a lady who sounded like she was halfway around the world and very difficult to understand. She said they would have to run a new cable to the house for internet, in addition to the cable that's currently coming to the house for TV. That's not how it used to be, and that would likely be a deal-breaker if so. I'm on hold with them again now to see if I can get a different person to ask and thought I'd ask here while I wait.

    Thanks.

    Edited to add: I'm finding conflicting results on Google. I thought this would be a simple yes/no question.

    Edited again: Sounds like the answer is maybe, or it depends, or perhaps.

    Comcast, of course, is of little help: "The salesman technician can determine that when does the installation. Which day works better for you?"
    Last edited by George; April 11th, 2019 at 03:20 PM.

  2. #42
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    4,568
    My personal experience has always been that the same line coming into your house has both the internet and cable TV signal. It's certainly the case here, I just have a splitter for the incoming coax line and send one of them to the cable modem, the other to the Tivo. Well, technically there's another splitter to head off to the bedroom Tivo, but that's another story. I've never actually seen a situation where there's a separate line for the two, especially now that most cable companies have gone entirely digital, so it's just another bunch of data running over the same wire.

    I wonder if they're being imprecise with the language and mean that it's possible the drop line from the pole to your house is an older one that would need to be upgraded - not so much that you'd have a second line coming into the house, but that the existing line would need to change out. In that case, I'd imagine there's some kind of outside connection where the drop line meets the inside wiring and they can likely just do that without anyone even being home.

    My guess is that's what they're trying to say, and saying they need to send a tech out to check the existing drop line to make sure it's new enough and undamaged. My last place had a drop line that was old and had a ton of nicks in the insulation from the rats that would run across it, so whenever it rained the TV and internet dropped out. That said, they kept telling me it needed to be replaced and that I didn't even need to be home to wrangle it, and then they missed every single appointment they ever set up to actually do that.

  3. #43
    High Plains Luddite George's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3,496
    Great info. Thanks for taking the time, Tom. Much appreciated.

  4. #44
    Junior Potato
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    4,664
    I got the internet upgraded to nbn at the unit that I rent earlier this week.

    The retard that did the install said that he canít pull the coax through to the existing phone outlet.

    So now I have a modem in my bedroom.

    Joy.

  5. #45
    Junior Potato
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    4,664
    So despite dumb modem placement issues, I'm living the tech high-life. The new PC is not going to be subjected to the same abuse my old laptop received, which means no *cough* bittorrent programs or dodgy shit. But that doesn't mean I'm giving up bittorrents. With two PCs available its easy.

    I've set myself up with a 32GB USB stick, which I've plugged into the router, and on the laptop I've set my torrent program to save new files to that USB stick.

    All I have to do is access it from the new PC over the network and I'm good to go

    It even works as a media server so that I can just straight-up watch any movies directly from my TV, in full 4K HDR glory.

    Take that, Disney.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •