Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 72

Thread: General broadband thread

  1. #21
    This Space For Rent Conman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    The other side of your monitor
    Posts
    49

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,350
    Quote Originally Posted by CudaMan View Post
    Behold the wonders of ATT DSL.

    If you can get some stats from your Router Brian and check your phone and broadband setup you might be able to improve that. Same with AT&T being able to tweak some of the settings, noticeable the DNR down slightly might get you another Meg or two.

  3. #23
    It's all kind of over my head. We've changed routers a couple times and had ATT check the lines, mostly because the connection is not the most stable. If memory serves that download speed is actually not far off what we pay for.

    I remember my friend having FiOS in Oregon, hmm, 10 years ago maybe. It was light years ahead of this. 10 years is a long long time in the tech world. We should have all had FiOS-like connections by now.

  4. #24

  5. #25
    mAdminstrator Random's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Davis, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,463
    Quote Originally Posted by CudaMan View Post
    I remember my friend having FiOS in Oregon, hmm, 10 years ago maybe. It was light years ahead of this. 10 years is a long long time in the tech world. We should have all had FiOS-like connections by now.
    Don't worry, the free market will take care of it.

    *cough*
    Whoomah!

  6. #26
    Member Member 21Kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Irvine, CA, USA
    Posts
    4,699

  7. #27
    mAdminstrator Random's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Davis, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,463
    We apparently got the "free speed upgrade" that Comcast has been rolling out. 57MB/s down, 5.7Mb/s up. Now we just need to address the fact that they are charging $100/mo for internet and phone.
    Whoomah!

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    10,171
    Let me know how that effort goes.

    I pay $65 for symmetrical 20mbit internet, no phone, TV, etc. It's stretching my tolerance.

  9. #29
    mAdminstrator Random's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Davis, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,463
    SureWest (or whatever their new name is now)?

    I can get the same Intertoobs speed that I have now from Comcast for $65, sans phone. UVerse can't keep up for the money--they top out at 45 Mb/s.
    Whoomah!

  10. #30
    mAdminstrator Random's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Davis, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,463
    google fiber cannot show up quickly enough.
    Whoomah!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •