Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Godson - 1995 BMW M3

Godson - 1995 BMW M3

I guess I never made a thread. Well I suppose I'll start it with a boring a short first post.

Anyone ever rebuild a brake caliper?

Quicker and easier to just buy a pair from a recycler.

but. yes. When I was a mechanic. And when I was a poor "fresh off the boat" student driving an old BMW.

It's not rocket science.

What he said. Not awful to rebuild, but given the option I'd always buy a different caliper than rebuild an old one. *Generally* speaking it's just a seal or two, but if there is one of the bellows type dust boots, they can be a real pain. Sometimes you need to get creative to get them installed correctly. Make sure you examine the caliper bore with a careful eye, and remember clealiness is of the utmost performance. Use only brake fluid as a lubricant for installing seals. Also, be double cautious it if it has an integrated handbrake mechanism - they can be quite complex, way too much to deal with for my tastes.

Normally I'd go the route of buying new calipers, but the choices are 50ea for front or 300ea for front. I'll buy the seal kit and do it myself on all four for less than the cost of one. This way I don't run the risk of effed up brake lines, and down time is minimal.

Just curious if anyone had done it before here.

Thanks guys.
    Last edited by Godson; March 9th, 2014 at 11:34 AM.

Looked at the rotor on the side in question and it is blueing... I don't know if I should push it off till this weekend. Luckily I can ride where I need to for a majority of the week.

Fuck.

So that leaves me with replacing a rotor. I am of the mindset of if you do it to one, you should do it to both on brakes. I also do not like the Axxiss Ultimates as the compound is 'sticky' and would prefer the Hawk HP+

This is going to get expensive.

Fuck-ing fuck.

When it rains it pours...