Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Prompted To Log In On Every Visit

  1. #11
    What does the Bat say? Jason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    3,019
    That made me check my bookmark, it used to be http, so I updated it to https, and I no longer have the login request

  2. #12
    Corvette Enthusiast Kchrpm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    8,653
    I updated my bookmark to https when the problem started to see if that fixed it, but no. I will try the front page through a couple methods.
    Get that weak shit off my track

  3. #13
    Corvette Enthusiast Kchrpm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    8,653
    Ok, so if I type in and go to https://gtxforums.net/ I'm not prompted for a log-in. If I go through a bookmark, I'm not prompted to log in.

    If I use my bookmark which leads to the New Posts page, https://www.gtxforums.net/search.php...e=vBForum_Post , I am.

    So it's navigating directly to the New Posts page that causes it. Clicking "New Posts" after entering the front page does not prompt me to log in.

    I'll keep my front page bookmark and take the extra step to get to new posts again.
    Get that weak shit off my track

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,808
    OK I've updated my bookmark which was also set to http. Will see what happens.

    New Bookmark working, remained logged in. Seems like it was the S.
    Last edited by Alan P; October 4th, 2023 at 05:07 PM.

  5. #15
    Administrator dodint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    'Trep
    Posts
    5,598
    "you have to put the s in https" was an inside joke somewhere for the longest time, but I can't remember if it was here, another forum I go to, or when I worked tech support.

  6. #16
    Member Member 21Kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Orange, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,299
    I just started getting this recently too. I don't use my PC much... but it also gives me an invalid re-direct warning. Similar thing, it is without the "S" in https. When I went to edit the bookmark, it didn't have any http listed at all. : shrug :

  7. #17
    Senior Member Leon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    1,891
    I've just been getting a dead link for about the last three weeks... this is the first time I've been able to see the site in ages!

  8. #18
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    8,779
    Quote Originally Posted by Kchrpm View Post
    Ok, so if I type in and go to https://gtxforums.net/ I'm not prompted for a log-in. If I go through a bookmark, I'm not prompted to log in.

    If I use my bookmark which leads to the New Posts page, https://www.gtxforums.net/search.php...e=vBForum_Post , I am.

    So it's navigating directly to the New Posts page that causes it. Clicking "New Posts" after entering the front page does not prompt me to log in.

    I'll keep my front page bookmark and take the extra step to get to new posts again.
    I wonder if it's setting different domains for the cookie based on "www.gtxforums.net" vs. "gtxforums.net". That'd be my first guess.

  9. #19
    Junior Potato
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    9,534
    I've been getting this now on my iPad, but not my PC or my iPhone. All use Chrome browser. My bookmark for the forum is the New Posts link (https://gtxforums.net/search.php?do=...e=vBForum_Post)

    On iPad I am asked to enter my credentials, but if I click the main banner, then the New Posts link just below it, the site behaves as normal.

    Maybe we all just need to update our bookmarks?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •